FanFic

Posted: May 9, 2011 in Light Phases, music
Tags: ,

This is my first live performance video on YouTube so naturally I’m a bit nervous presenting it.   As for the song, it’s the product of watching too much television.  Five seasons of Dexter in three months, capped off with a viewing of  Gamer, because my friend said I should watch it  because I am the target audience, being both a Michael C. Hall fan and a “resident” on Second Life; I guess it all made an impression, though writing it down now makes me sound a bit . . . well, geeky.  Ahem.

 Let me know what you think.  Extra points if you can tell me where I pulled the sound byte!

I was waiting tables on the east side

He came in , kind of hard not to recognize

I played it cool until closing time

Hey there, whatcha doing tonight?

There was a frisson, a charisma

He was an actor, there was an aura of fame about him

You could feel it from across the room

The way he moved his eyes and used his hands

His whole body, it was transmitting

Whatever he was feeling he could make you feel it too

Later on, over drinks at a bar

I said, “I must confess, I know exactly who you are

I love all your work, but your roles are so dark.”

He said, “I’ve got a secret for playing the part”

There was a frisson, a charisma

He was an actor, there was an aura of fame about him

You could feel it from across the room

The way he moved his eyes and used his hands

His whole body, it was transmitting

Whatever he was feeling he could make you feel it too

In no time at all he had me tied up and screaming

If you know what I mean

When it was said and done he said he had fun and he’d call me

But I never saw him again, except on TV

There was a frisson, a charisma

He was an actor, there was an aura of fame about him

You could feel it from across the room

The way he moved his eyes and used his hands

His whole body, it was transmitting

Whatever he was feeling he could make you feel it too

Comments
  1. Suzette Tinkess Merchant says:

    This is absolutely my new favorite song! I can’t get it out of my head. Played it on my phone before we went to bed. Played it on my phone when we woke up. Sang it in the shower when…well, when I took a shower. I am so impressed by you Paula Boyd-Sutor. My only problem is that by stalking you on the internet I have now also discovered Ghost and Neverland…so now they are also competing for my mental space…along with No Child of Mine and Elevator Music…but since I can SEE you performing Fan Fic that one remains my favorite. Hmmm…perhaps this could be interpreted as a cry for more live videos of Ms. Boyd-Sutor performing the amazing songs off her highly anticipated forthcoming EP..? You rock!!!

Leave a Reply

