Hotel Utah, May 28th

Posted: April 9, 2011 in Light Phases, music
Tags: , , ,

 

I’m very pleased to announce my first live show on Saturday, May 28th at The Hotel Utah in San Francisco, CA.  I’ll be opening for  the always amazing, Ready!Ricochet and San Diego artist,  Maren Parusel.  It’s a particularly auspicious occasion, as it is also Ready!Ricochet’s CD release party.

For my performance, I’ll be doing a few songs solo with my keyboard and looper, and then I’ll be joined on stage by Ready!Ricochet drummer, Gina Montel and bassist, Erica Liss for two song off of my upcoming EP.  Also sitting in with me will be Pauli Gray on guitar and my husband, Scott on keys.  

 Scott and I haven’t shared a stage since the mid 90’s when he decided he’d had enough of the musical life.   He has supported my musical endeavors 110% all these years and even plays some key on my CD.   I’m thrilled that he’s “coming out of retirement” for my show.

Pauli, Gina and I used to be in a band together called Candy From Strangers.  CFS was a fabulously trashy, glam-punk-pop affair.  It was most likely the best band I will ever take part in, so I remember it fondly.  It will be great to be on stage with Pauli and Gina again also.

I’ve always excelled at making beginnings ending, and occasionally vice versa.  While I would love to think of this show as the starting point of something, I’m thinking of it more as a milestone.  I’m conflicted when it comes to performing live.  I’ve had some amazing  experiences on stage, but I’ve had  more bad nights which have left me wondering why I do this at all.   Sometimes being a performer feels like being a lion tamer working with an unpredictable beast, the audience.  You put your head in its jaws hoping it will eat you up in the best possible way, rather than just chewed up and spit out.  I guess lion tamers never want to be eaten at all, so strike that last attempt at metaphorical language.

If you happen to be reading this from the San Francisco Bay Area, let me at least recommend you come see the show just to catch Ready!Ricochet, particularly if you like post-punk/industrial/synth-driven music.  Here’s a taste from their last show.

Comments are closed.